By Doug Watson
Hagerstown MD, (4/20/24)-
Severna Park Maryland’s Kyle Lear drove to his first win of the season in last Saturday nights 20-lap late model sportsman feature at Hagerstown Speedway. The win for Lear, steering his Ray Ciccarelli owned Rocket no.151, would be the 26th of his career at the fabled Washington County oval.
Lining up second for the start Lear outgunned pole sitter Jonathan DeHaven to take the race lead on the first lap and would eventually pace all 20 circuits. DeHaven gave Lear all he could handle in the closing stages of the event, but would have to settle for runner-up money. “It’s always an advantage when you can start on the front row.” Lear stated. “It was a technical race track tonight, the lane moved a little bit, and you had to move around throughout the feature.” Although succumbing to mechanical issues in the season opener, Lear was quite pleased with the performance of his car. “This is a brand new car and it has been good since we unloaded it at practice.” Said Lear. “The track was ok tonight and we had two good racing lanes for having all the high horsepower cars here tonight.” Barry Miller took third with Wesley Bonebrake and defending track champion Devin Hart completing the top five. Taking heat race victories over the stout 41-car field were Kyle Lear, Cody Kershner, Devin Hart and Jonathan DeHaven with Austin Warrenfeltz and Scott Palmer splitting twin B-mains.
In the 20-lap UMP Modified main it was Chalk Hill Pa’s Mason Zeigler collecting his first career division feature win. Zeigler came from his 6th starting spot to track down race long leader George Dixon and would take the lead on the 19th lap to score the come from behind win. Dixon settled for a second, last weeks winner Spike Moore was third, Glenn Elliott took 4th with 12th starting Michael Altobelli Jr rounding out the top five. Heats for the 23 entries went to Zeigler, Elliott and Dixon.
Rockingham Virginia’s Jerald Harris drove to his second career Hagerstown feature win in the 25 lap 305 Sprint Car feature. Harris took the lead on the first lap and would cruise to the win over John Scarborough, 10th starting Jeff Paulson, Dale Schweikert and Daren Bolac. Heats for the 25 cars on hand went to John Scarborough, Daren Bolac and Dale Schweikert.
Defending track champion Keith Reed drove to his first win of the season and the 15 lap Pure Stock main to become the third different winner of the three week old season. Reeds 10th career division feature win came over Dylan Beavers, Tyler Fisher, Nathan Younker and last weeks winner Evan Foust. Heats for the 20 car field went to Foust and Reed.
4/20/2024 Results:
𝗜𝗠𝗖𝗔 𝗥𝗔𝗖𝗘𝗦𝗔𝗩𝗘𝗥 𝗦𝗣𝗥𝗜𝗡𝗧𝗦 – 25 cars – 25 laps (Lap Leaders: Harris 1-25)
1. J9-Jerald Harris[1]; 2. 61-John Scarborough[7]; 3. 16-Jeff Paulson[10]; 4. 78-Dale Schweikert[9]; 5. 44V-Daren Bolac[3]; 6. 1R-Christian Rumsey[12]; 7. 461-Colton Hendershot[13]; 8. 31-Donny Hendershot[6]; 9. 20-Chris Humblet[24]; 10. 47-Ben Miklos[8]; 11. 4S-Mikey Smith[25]; 12. 1NY-Mark Reynolds[15]; 13. 25-Matthew Kline[16]; 14. 10J-Jay Fry[2]; 15. 71-Dylan Shatzer[4]; 16. 6-Caleb Harris[5]; 17. 43-Chris Ware[14]; 18. 20J-James Humblet[23]; 19. 5-Braeden Varner[18]; 20. 21VT-Mia Koponen[20]; 21. 26-Ryan Lynn[11]; 22. R6-Reed Thompson[21]; 23. 98S-Bill Sheehan[17]; 24. (DNS) 99-AJ Barton; 25. (DNS) 21M-Hunter McFadden
𝗟𝗔𝗧𝗘 𝗠𝗢𝗗𝗘𝗟 𝗦𝗣𝗢𝗥𝗧𝗦𝗠𝗔𝗡 – 41 cars – 20 laps (Lap Leaders: Miller 1, Lear 2-20)
1. 151-Kyle Lear[2]; 2. 13D-Jonathan DeHaven[4]; 3. 88-Barry Miller[3]; 4. 37F-Wesley Bonebrake[5]; 5. 33K-Devin Hart[8]; 6. 28Z-Ryan Zook[6]; 7. 21-Jakob Piper[9]; 8. 82-Andy Fries[16]; 9. 56R-George Dixon[10]; 10. E85-Chad Earnst[11]; 11. 7-Kenny Yoder[15]; 12. 8-Taylor Farlling[13]; 13. 86-Scott Palmer[21]; 14. 24K-Jeff King[12]; 15. 2-Dan Zechman[14]; 16. 85-Gunnar Walls[20]; 17. 44-Shawn Shoemaker[18]; 18. 11-Austin Warrenfeltz[22]; 19. 16-Clinton Hersh[17]; 20. 99C-Cody Lear[19]; 21. 15-Matt Parks[25]; 22. 49-Ray Ciccarelli[26]; 23. 25-Jonathan Raley[23]; 24. 2+2-Cody Kershner[7]; 25. 58-Randy Burkholder[24]; 26. 88C-Chuck Cox III[1]   DNQ: 33-Jacob Whitt; 27U-Cuyler Upperman; 12K-Jared Fulkroad; 000-Pat McNeal[10]; 4-John Moser Jr; 28-John Miller; 11M-Jim McBee; 16D-Justin Dillman; 41-Jake Moser; 556-Eric Cronise; 6. 76-Mason Strait; Bradley Benton; 27-Lee Zeger; 44H-Gilbert Hess; 70J-DJ Myers
𝗨𝗠𝗣 𝗠𝗢𝗗𝗜𝗙𝗜𝗘𝗗𝗦 – 23 cars – 20 laps (Dixon 1-19, Zeigler 20)
1. 5Z-Mason Zeigler[6]; 2. 77-George Dixon[4]; 3. 8W-Gregory Moore[5]; 4. 5E-Glenn Elliott[7]; 5. 95-Michael Altobelli[12]; 6. 18-Rick Hulson[2]; 7. 747-Jimmy Jesmer[3]; 8. 90-Ray Kable[9]; 9. 58-Donnie Farlling[8]; 10. 7D-TJ DeHaven[10]; 11. 45-Brandon Hoover[16]; 12. H20-Ridge Bookwalter[13]; 13. 34-Cody Williams[17]; 14. 17X-Darin Hoover[19]; 15. 35-Ryan Dolan[11]; 16. 73-Amber Mills[1]; 17. 33-Allen Whitt Jr[14]; 18. 34D-Curtis Dunn[18]; 19. 11-Brad Kling[20]; 20. 13G-David Green[21]; 21. 21-Nick Hausenfluck[23]; 22. 20C-Roy Clower[15]; 23. (DNS) 70-Michael Grady
𝗣𝗨𝗥𝗘 𝗦𝗧𝗢𝗖𝗞 – 20 cars – 15 laps (Ecton Jr. 1, Beaver 2-9, Reed 10-15)
1. 8-Keith Reed[7]; 2. 62-Dylan Beavers[6]; 3. 32-Tyler Fisher[3]; 4. 31-Nathaniel Younker[5]; 5. 78-Evan Foust[8]; 6. 30-Cody Sumption[1]; 7. 57-William Ecton Jr[2]; 8. 8R-Blake Reed[11]; 9. 17L-Randy Linaburg[19]; 10. 13-Sam Hoffman[9]; 11. 64-William Crook[4]; 12. 67-William Ecton Sr[12]; 13. 11A-James Speelman[15]; 14. 12-David Thompson[16]; 15. 71-Carter Shank[14]; 16. 21-David Heining[17]; 17. 08-Glenn Grimm[18]; 18. (DNS) 42-Andrew Saffelle; 19. (DNS) 03-Danny Walters; 20. (DNS) 45-Lincoln Sutphin