Satterlee/Troutman take honors Sunday

“Satterlee Sunday Star in Hagerstown’s Frank Sagi Tribute”/“Troutman Wires Field for Second E-Mod Score”


By Doug Watson



       Hagerstown, MD- Indiana Pennsylvania’s Gregg Satterlee drove to his first win of the season last Sunday nights 30-lap “Frank Sagi Tribute” at Hagerstown speedway. The win for Satterlee, worth $3500, came in his familiar Rocket no.22 and would be the 10th of his career at the venerable half-mile oval. 

       Satterlee shot from the pole into the lead at the initial drop of the green flag with Trever Feathers in tow. Satterlee built up a comfortable lead until Feathers ran him down and took the lead on the 17th lap. Feathers would lead until a caution bunched the field on lap-25 setting up a 5-lap dash for the win. When the green was displayed Satterlee charged around Feathers in turn one and would eventually pace the remaining circuits to post the win. “First off I have to thank Alan Sagi and everyone here at Hagerstown speedway for putting on this show.” Satterlee stated from victory lane. “If it hadn’t been for the caution I don’t think I would have caught Trever. Robbie Allen and all the crew gave me a great car tonight and I hope we put on a good show for all the fans.” Feathers was pleased with his runner up performance. “This is the best our car has been for the past two months.” Feathers said. “During the caution our tires cooled off and Gregg was able to get by, but were happy for second and will move on to the next race.” Matt Cosner, Tyler Bare and 14th starting Rick Eckert rounded out the top-five. Taking heat race wins for the 31 cars entered went to Satterlee, Feathers, Tyler Bare and Gary Stuhler with Colton Flinner winning the consolation.

       Hyndman Pa’s Drake Troutman dominated the 25 lap Mid Atlantic Modified main for his second Hagerstown win of the season. Troutman darted from the pole and would lead every lap of the event that featured only one caution period. “Starting up front always helps and we were able to get the lead on the first lap.” Troutman quipped. “We’ve had a good car all season and to come here and get another win is an awesome feeling.” After a first lap caution that sent him to the rear of the field, Mike Altobelli Jr. stormed through the field for second with Steve Axtell Jr., Keith Jackson and Mike Franklin completing the top five. Heats for the 26 entries went to Altobelli, Troutman and Axtell.


Late Model feature finish 

Gregg Satterlee, Trever Feathers, Matt Cosner, Tyler Bare, Rick Eckert, Gary Stuhler, Max Blair, Dan Stone, Logan Roberson, Jim Bernheisel, Gene Knaub, Barry Miller, Austin Berry, Drake Troutman, Roy Deese Jr., Matt Sponaugle, Tyler Horst, Colton Flinner, Kirk Baker, Shaun Jones, Andy Anderson, Wayne Johnson, Marvin Winters DNS-Tyler Hershey DNQ-Rodney Walls, Matt Nailor, Chad Myers, Dillon Stake, Andy Kirby, Pancho Lawler, Larry Neiderer


E-Mod feature finish 

Drake Troutman, Mike Altobelli Jr, Steven Axtell Jr, Keith Jackson, Mike Franklin, Cody Williams, Ray Kable Jr, Carl McKinney, Justin Cullum, Doug Stine, Rick Hulson, Jimmy Jesmer Jr, Bret Hamilton, Dale Smith, Jacob Marker, Jacob Whitt, TJ DeHaven, Tim Fedder, Mike Corbin, Frank Dibella, Curtis Dunn, Alyssa Rowe, Michael Pappas, Cole Nagel, Jerry Foster, Brad Kling