“Lear Back On Track With Second Straight Hagerstown Victory”

Kershner, Grady and Beavers Secure Division Titles”

By Doug Watson

Hagerstown, MD (8/27/22)- After getting a late start to the 2022 season, former track champion Kyle Lear has made up for lost time as he rolled to his second consecutive Late Model Sportsman feature win at Hagerstown Speedway.

The event also served as the final night of points racing as Cody Kershner claimed his first career Late model Model Sportsman title. Also becoming first time career Hagerstown Speedway champions were Mike Grady Jr. in the Pure Stocks and teenager Dylan Beavers in the Hobby Stocks.

Kyle Lear left little doubt that he had the fastest car of the night as he came from his third starting spot into the race lead as the field came roaring off turn number four. A late race caution gave the field one more opportunity at the leader but Lear the class of the field and would score his 24th career division win aboard his trusty Rocket no.151. “We have certainly had our ups and downs this season and it feels pretty good to finally have things back on track.” Lear stated in victory lane. “I just want to thank all the crew, family and sponsors, they’ve stuck behind me and I wouldn’t be here right now without them.” Ninth-starting Shawn Shoemaker was solid in second with Dale Murphy, Barry Miller and Taylor Farlling rounding out the top five. Heats for 21 entries went to Bobby Beard, Lear and Farlling.

In support class action, newly crowned track champion Mike Grady Jr drove to his 2nd 15-lap Pure Stock win of the season over Jason Stoner, Kody Sites, Codey Breeden and Bobby Miexsall with Nick Fogle coming out on top in another cliffhanger 15-lap Hobby Stock feature for his second consecutive win over Keith Reed, Dylan Beavers, Mike Fuller and Nathaniel Younker.


Late Model Sportsman feature finish

Kyle Lear, Shawn Shoemaker, Dale Murphy, Barry Miller, Taylor Farlling, Scott Palmer, Bobby Beard, Sean Merkel, Jonathan Raley, Jeff King, Ray Ciccarelli, Randy Schaeffer, Sam Archer, Madeline Miller, Cuyler Upperman, Dustin Arnold, Elwood Sord, Mason Strait, Matt Williamson, Jakob Piper, Aaron Drummond


Pure Stock feature finish

Mike Grady Jr, Jason Stoner, Kody Sites, Codey Breeden, Bobby Miexsall, Shane McQuay, Jeremy Mills, Brian Miller, DNS-Jamey Swank, Deakon Snyder, Dwayne Snyder, Cody Kershner


Hobby Stock feature finish

Nick Fogle, Keith Reed, Dylan Beavers, Mike Fuller, Nathaniel Younker, Devin Thomas, James Mongan Sr, James Speelman, Evan Foust, John Catlett, Zack Reid, Charles Noblitt, Carter Shank, Glenn Grimm, Robert Thompson, Zach Frost, Tyler Fisher